How Many Disciples Did Jesus Have Altogether?

When it comes to the number of disciples that Jesus had, there is some debate among scholars and religious leaders. However, most agree that Jesus had 12 main disciples, also known as apostles. These 12 men were chosen by Jesus to spread his message and teachings throughout the world.

The 12 Disciples

The names of the 12 disciples are as follows: Simon Peter, Andrew, James (the son of Zebedee), John (the brother of James), Philip, Bartholomew, Thomas, Matthew (also known as Levi), James (the son of Alphaeus), Thaddaeus (also known as Judas or Jude), Simon (the Zealot), and Judas Iscariot.

What Happened to Judas Iscariot?

While Judas Iscariot was one of the original 12 disciples chosen by Jesus, he is perhaps best known for betraying Jesus. According to the Bible, Judas agreed to hand over Jesus to the religious authorities in exchange for 30 pieces of silver. After leading them to Jesus in the garden of Gethsemane, Judas identified him with a kiss on the cheek.

Following this betrayal, Jesus was arrested and later crucified. According to some accounts, Judas felt remorse for his actions after seeing what had happened to Jesus and tried to return the money he had been paid. When this was refused by the priests who had hired him, Judas went out and hanged himself.

Other Disciples

While these 12 men are often referred to as “disciples,” they were not the only followers of Jesus during his time on earth. In fact, there were many others who followed him and helped spread his message throughout their communities.

Some notable individuals include Mary Magdalene, who is said to have been one of Jesus’ closest followers and was present at his crucifixion and resurrection. Other followers include Mary and Martha, who were sisters living in Bethany, Lazarus, who was famously raised from the dead by Jesus, and Nicodemus, a Pharisee who came to Jesus seeking guidance.

The Importance of the Disciples

The disciples played a crucial role in spreading Jesus’ message throughout the world. After his death and resurrection, they traveled far and wide to share his teachings with others. Their work helped establish Christianity as a major religion, one that is still practiced by millions of people around the world today.

In addition to spreading his teachings, the disciples also helped to establish some of the key practices of Christianity. For example, they were present at the Last Supper, which is now celebrated as part of the Christian ritual of communion.


While there is some debate over exactly how many disciples Jesus had, most agree that there were 12 primary apostles who played a crucial role in spreading his message throughout the world. These men traveled far and wide to share his teachings with others, establishing Christianity as a major religion that is still practiced by millions today.