What Are the 12 Main Gods in Ancient Greece?

In ancient Greece, the gods were a major part of daily life. The Greeks believed in 12 main gods and goddesses, known as the Olympians. Each god had a unique personality and a specific area of influence.

The 12 Main Gods


Zeus, the king of the gods, was the most powerful deity in Greek mythology. He was often depicted holding a thunderbolt and ruling over the sky and thunder.


Hera was Zeus’s wife and queen of the gods. She was associated with marriage, family, and childbirth.


Poseidon was the god of the sea, earthquakes, and horses. He carried a trident and was known for his volatile temper.


Demeter was the goddess of agriculture, harvest, and fertility. She was often associated with grain and cereal crops.


Athena, goddess of wisdom, warfare, and crafts, was one of Zeus’s favorite daughters. She is often depicted wearing armor and carrying a shield.


Apollo, god of music, poetry, prophecy, and medicine, was one of the most revered Olympians. He is often depicted playing a lyre or holding a bow.


Artemis, goddess of hunting and wild animals, was Apollo’s twin sister. She is often depicted with a bow and arrow or surrounded by deer.


Ares, god of war, violence, and bloodshed, represented both the brutality and necessity of warfare in ancient Greece.


Aphrodite, goddess of love, beauty, and fertility, was one of the most popular deities in ancient Greece. She was often associated with the sea and seashells.


Hephaestus, god of fire, blacksmiths, and craftsmen, was considered both a skilled worker and an outcast among the gods.


Hermes, god of commerce, thieves, travelers, and messages, was a messenger for the gods. He is often depicted wearing winged sandals or a hat.


Dionysus, god of wine, revelry, and fertility, was often associated with parties and celebrations. He is often depicted with a grapevine or holding a cup.

  • Zeus – king of the gods
  • Hera – queen of the gods
  • Poseidon – god of the sea
  • Demeter – goddess of agriculture
  • Athena – goddess of wisdom
  • Apollo – god of music and poetry
  • Artemis – goddess of hunting
  • Ares – god of war
  • Aphrodite – goddess of love
  • Hephaestus – god of fire
  • Hermes – messenger for the gods
  • Dionysus- god of wine and celebration


These 12 main gods played important roles in Greek mythology and were worshipped by people all over ancient Greece. Each deity had their own unique personality traits and areas of influence, which contributed to the rich and diverse mythology of ancient Greece.