What Are the Name of Jesus 12 Disciples?

In the Bible, Jesus had many followers, but he chose twelve men to be his closest disciples. These twelve disciples were chosen by Jesus to spread his teachings and to continue his work after he was gone. In this article, we will take a closer look at the names of Jesus’ twelve disciples.

1. Simon Peter

Simon Peter was a fisherman from the town of Bethsaida.

He was one of the first disciples that Jesus called and is often considered to be the leader of the twelve. Peter’s original name was Simon, but Jesus gave him the name “Peter,” which means “rock.”

2. Andrew

Andrew was also a fisherman from Bethsaida and was Simon Peter’s brother. Andrew is known for introducing his brother to Jesus.

3. James

James was one of two brothers who were called by Jesus to be his disciples. James and his brother John were both fishermen.

4. John

John was the other brother who, along with James, left their fishing business to follow Jesus.

5. Philip

Philip was from Bethsaida and is known for introducing Nathanael to Jesus.

6. Bartholomew (Nathanael)

Bartholomew is also known as Nathanael in the Bible. He is originally from Cana in Galilee.

7. Matthew

Matthew, also known as Levi, was a tax collector before he became a disciple of Jesus.

8. Thomas

Thomas is often referred to as “Doubting Thomas” because he initially didn’t believe that Jesus had risen from the dead.

9. James (son of Alphaeus)

James (son of Alphaeus) is also known as James the Less. Little is known about him.

10. Thaddaeus (Judas, son of James)

Thaddaeus is also known as Judas, son of James or Lebbaeus. He is often confused with Judas Iscariot, who betrayed Jesus.

11. Simon the Zealot

Simon the Zealot was a member of a Jewish sect that opposed Roman rule.

12. Judas Iscariot

Judas Iscariot is perhaps the most infamous of Jesus’ disciples. He betrayed Jesus for thirty pieces of silver and led the authorities to Jesus, which ultimately led to his crucifixion.

  • In conclusion, these twelve men were chosen by Jesus to be his closest disciples and spread his teachings after he was gone.
  • Their names are:
    • Simon Peter
    • Andrew
    • James
    • John
    • Philip
    • Bartholomew (Nathanael)
    • Matthew
    • Thomas
    • James (son of Alphaeus)
    • Thaddaeus (Judas, son of James)
    • Simon the Zealot< li >< u > Judas Iscariot

Additional Resources:

If you are interested in learning more about Jesus’ disciples, the Bible provides many resources for further study. You can read about their individual stories in the Gospels of Matthew, Mark, Luke, and John.