What Are the Names of Jesus Disciples in Hebrew?

When it comes to the New Testament, the names of Jesus’ disciples are well-known. However, what are their names in Hebrew? In this article, we will explore the Hebrew names of Jesus’ twelve disciples and some interesting facts about them.

The Disciples of Jesus in Hebrew

  • Peter: In Hebrew, Peter is known as “Kefa” (כֵּיפָא). The name means “rock” or “stone.” This name was given to him by Jesus because he stated that Peter would be the rock on which he would build his church.
  • Andrew: Andrew’s name in Hebrew is “Andrei” (אַנְדְרֵי). The name means “manly” or “warrior. “
  • James: James’ name in Hebrew is “Yaakov” (יַעֲקֹב). The name means “supplanter” or “holder of the heel.” This name was common during biblical times.
  • John: John’s name in Hebrew is “Yochanan” (יוֹחָנָן). The name means “God has been gracious.”
  • Philip: Philip’s name in Hebrew is “Felipi” (פליפי). The name means “lover of horses. “
  • Bartholomew: Bartholomew’s name in Hebrew is “Bar-Talmai” (בר-תלמי). The name means “son of Talmai.”

    Talmai was a common name during biblical times.

  • Matthew: Matthew’s name in Hebrew is “Matityahu” (מַתִּתְיָהוּ). The name means “gift of God.”
  • Thomas: Thomas’ name in Hebrew is “Toma” (תומא). The name means “twin. “
  • James, son of Alphaeus: James’ name in Hebrew is “Yaakov ben Alphaeus” (יַעֲקֹב בן-אלפאוס). The name means “supplanter, son of Alphaeus.” Alphaeus was a common name during biblical times.
  • Jude Thaddeus: Jude’s name in Hebrew is “Yehuda” (יְהוּדָה). The name means “praise.” Thaddeus was added to his name to differentiate him from Judas Iscariot.
  • Simon the Zealot: Simon’s name in Hebrew is “Shim’on ha-Kanai” (שמעון הקנאי). The name means “Simon the Zealous.”
  • Judas Iscariot: Judas’ name in Hebrew is “Yehuda Ish-Keriot” (יוּדָה איש-קריות). The meaning of the word Keriot is unclear, but it is believed to mean something like a village or town.

Facts About Jesus’ Disciples


Peter is often considered the leader of the twelve disciples. He was a fisherman before Jesus called him to be a disciple. Peter is known for denying Jesus three times before his crucifixion, but he later became a strong leader in the early Christian church.


John is often referred to as “the beloved disciple.” He was present at many important events in Jesus’ life, including the Last Supper and the crucifixion. John is also believed to be the author of five books in the New Testament: the Gospel of John, 1 John, 2 John, 3 John, and Revelation.

Judas Iscariot

Judas Iscariot is known for betraying Jesus with a kiss, leading to his arrest and eventual crucifixion. Judas’ betrayal is one of the most well-known events in the Bible.

After betraying Jesus, Judas felt remorse and returned the money he had been given to betray him. However, he ultimately hung himself out of guilt.


The names of Jesus’ disciples in Hebrew provide insight into their backgrounds and personalities. Each disciple played an important role in spreading Jesus’ message and building his church. Despite their flaws and imperfections, they remained faithful to Jesus until the end.