What Are the Names of Jesus Disciples?

If you’re familiar with the Bible, you’ve undoubtedly heard of Jesus Christ, the central figure of Christianity. But did you know that he had a group of devoted followers known as his disciples? In this article, we’ll take a closer look at who these individuals were and what they did.

Who were the disciples?

According to the New Testament, Jesus had twelve disciples, also known as apostles. They were:

  • Peter
  • Andrew
  • James, son of Zebedee
  • John
  • Philip
  • Bartholomew
  • Thomas
  • Matthew
  • James, son of Alphaeus
  • Jude (also known as Thaddeus or Lebbaeus)
  • Simeon (also known as Simon) the Zealot
  • Judas Iscariot (who would later betray Jesus)


Peter was a fisherman from Bethsaida and is often considered the leader of the disciples. He is mentioned more than any other disciple in the gospels and was present at some of the most significant events in Jesus’ life.

James and John

James and John were brothers and were both fishermen. They are sometimes referred to as the “Sons of Thunder” due to their fiery personalities.


Matthew was a tax collector before becoming a disciple. He is credited with writing the Gospel of Matthew.

Judas Iscariot

Judas Iscariot is infamous for betraying Jesus for thirty pieces of silver. After the betrayal, he hanged himself.

What did the disciples do?

Jesus’ disciples were his closest followers and were present for many of his teachings, miracles, and important events. They were tasked with spreading the gospel after Jesus’ death and resurrection.

After Jesus’ ascension into heaven, the disciples continued to preach and spread his message throughout the world. Many of them faced persecution and martyrdom for their beliefs.


The disciples played a significant role in the life of Jesus and in the spread of Christianity throughout history. Although they were just ordinary men, their faith and dedication to Jesus allowed them to accomplish extraordinary things.