What Book Is the Life of Jesus?

The life of Jesus has been a subject of interest for many people around the world for centuries. But the question arises, what book is the life of Jesus?

The answer to this question is not as straightforward as one might think. There are several books that provide detailed information about Jesus’ life, and each presents its unique perspective. Let’s explore some of the most popular ones.

The Bible

The most widely read and recognized book about Jesus is undoubtedly the Bible. The Bible is a collection of 66 books that include both the Old and New Testament.

In the New Testament, four Gospels (Matthew, Mark, Luke, and John) provide accounts of Jesus’ life, teachings, miracles, death, and resurrection. These Gospels serve as primary sources for Jesus’ life and have been studied extensively by scholars and theologians.

The Gospel of Matthew

The Gospel of Matthew provides a detailed account of Jesus’ birth, his teachings on various topics such as love, forgiveness, and salvation. This gospel also highlights how Jesus fulfilled Old Testament prophecies about the coming Messiah.

The Gospel of Mark

The Gospel of Mark is believed to be the earliest gospel written and provides a concise account of Jesus’ actions rather than his words. This gospel emphasizes Jesus’ miracles and his suffering on the cross.

The Gospel of Luke

The Gospel of Luke provides an in-depth account of Jesus’ birth and childhood that is not found in other gospels. It also highlights how Jesus interacted with women during his ministry.

The Gospel of John

The Gospel of John presents a unique perspective on Jesus’ life and teachings. It emphasizes how he was both fully human and fully divine while stressing the importance of faith in him.

Other Books About Jesus

Besides the Bible’s Gospels, there are other books that provide insights into Jesus’ life and teachings. One such book is the “The Lost Books of the Bible,” which includes several gospels and writings that were not included in the Bible’s final canon.

The Infancy Gospel of Thomas

This gospel narrates Jesus’ life from his birth to his early teenage years, highlighting his miracles and divine nature as a child.

The Gospel of Judas

The Gospel of Judas portrays Judas Iscariot as a hero rather than a traitor. It emphasizes how he was chosen by Jesus to betray him and how this betrayal was necessary for Jesus’ mission on earth.


In conclusion, the life of Jesus has been documented in various books that provide different perspectives on his life and teachings. The most widely recognized book about Jesus is the Bible, which includes four gospels that serve as primary sources for his life.

Other books such as “The Lost Books of the Bible” provide additional insights into Jesus’ life and teachings. Regardless of which book one chooses to read about Jesus, it is essential to approach them with an open mind and heart to gain a better understanding of who he was and what he stood for.