What Do You Call the Book That Contains the Life Story of Jesus?

If you’re new to Christianity or just curious about its teachings, you might be wondering what the book containing the life story of Jesus is called. The answer is simple: the Bible.

However, the story of Jesus isn’t just contained in a single book within the Bible. In fact, it’s spread across multiple books in both the Old and New Testaments.

The Old Testament

In the Old Testament, there are several books that contain prophecies about Jesus’ coming and his life story. These books include Isaiah, Jeremiah, and Zechariah.

In Isaiah 7:14, for example, it says “Therefore the Lord himself will give you a sign: The virgin will conceive and give birth to a son, and will call him Immanuel.” This verse is often seen as a prophecy about Jesus’ birth.

Isaiah 53

One of the most well-known prophecies about Jesus in the Old Testament is found in Isaiah 53. This chapter describes a suffering servant who would bear our sins and be punished on our behalf. This servant is believed by Christians to be a reference to Jesus.

The New Testament

The majority of the story of Jesus is contained in the New Testament. The first four books of the New Testament are called Matthew, Mark, Luke, and John – also known as the Gospels. These books tell the story of Jesus’ birth, life, teachings, miracles, death on the cross, and resurrection.

The Gospels

Each Gospel has its own unique perspective on Jesus’ life story. Matthew was written for a Jewish audience and emphasizes how Jesus fulfilled Old Testament prophecies about the Messiah.

Mark focuses more on Jesus’ actions than his teachings. Luke was written by a physician and pays close attention to details such as healings performed by Jesus. John, on the other hand, emphasizes Jesus’ divinity and uses poetic language to describe his life and teachings.

The Book of Acts

After the Gospels, the next book in the New Testament is called Acts. This book tells the story of the early Christian church and how it spread throughout the Roman Empire. It also includes stories about the apostles and their teachings.

The Epistles

The remaining books in the New Testament are called epistles, which are letters written by early Christian leaders such as Paul, Peter, and James. These letters provide guidance on how to live a Christian life and address various issues facing early Christians. They also contain references to Jesus’ teachings and his life story.


In summary, while there isn’t a single book within the Bible that contains only Jesus’ life story, his story is woven throughout both the Old and New Testaments. The prophecies in the Old Testament foretell his coming, while the Gospels in the New Testament tell us about his birth, life, teachings, death, and resurrection.

The Epistles provide guidance on how to live a Christian life based on his teachings. Understanding Jesus’ story is an important part of understanding Christianity as a whole.