What Four Books of the Bible Tells About Jesus Life?

The Bible is a collection of religious texts that has been a source of inspiration and guidance for millions of people around the world. Among the many stories and lessons contained in its pages, there are four books that tell us about the life and teachings of Jesus Christ.

The Four Gospels

The four books of the Bible that tell us about Jesus’ life are known as the Gospels. They are Matthew, Mark, Luke, and John. Each Gospel offers a unique perspective on Jesus’ life, but together they give us a comprehensive understanding of who he was and what he stood for.

The Gospel of Matthew

Matthew’s Gospel was written for a Jewish audience and emphasizes Jesus’ role as the Messiah promised in Jewish scripture. It begins with his birth and early life, then goes on to recount his teachings, miracles, and eventual crucifixion and resurrection.

One of the most famous sections in Matthew’s Gospel is the Sermon on the Mount, where Jesus delivers some of his most powerful teachings, including the Beatitudes. He also performs many miracles throughout the book, including healing the sick and feeding large crowds with only a few loaves of bread and fish.

The Gospel of Mark

Mark’s Gospel is thought to be the earliest written account of Jesus’ life. It is fast-paced and emphasizes action over reflection or theological discussion. It begins with John the Baptist preparing the way for Jesus’ ministry, then moves quickly through his baptism, temptation in the wilderness, and public ministry.

Mark’s Gospel is known for its vivid portrayals of Jesus as a man who heals the sick, feeds the hungry, and performs other miraculous acts. Many scholars believe that this emphasis on action reflects Mark’s belief that Christians should be actively engaged in spreading God’s message.

The Gospel of Luke

Luke’s Gospel was written by a physician who was also a Gentile (non-Jew). It presents Jesus as a universal savior, who came not just for the Jewish people but for all of humanity. Luke’s Gospel is known for its emphasis on compassion and caring for the marginalized and oppressed.

One of the most famous stories in Luke’s Gospel is the Parable of the Good Samaritan, in which a man who has been robbed and beaten is helped by a Samaritan, despite their cultural differences. Luke’s Gospel also includes many stories about women, such as Mary and Martha, who were close followers of Jesus.

The Gospel of John

John’s Gospel is unique among the four in that it emphasizes the divinity of Jesus more than his humanity. It begins with a poetic prologue that describes Jesus as the Word made flesh, who came to bring light to a dark world.

John’s Gospel includes many stories not found in the other three Gospels, such as Jesus turning water into wine at a wedding in Cana. It also offers detailed accounts of Jesus’ interactions with his disciples, including his washing their feet at the Last Supper.


The four books of the Bible that tell us about Jesus’ life offer us a rich and varied portrait of one of history’s most influential figures. Whether we are drawn to Matthew’s emphasis on justice and righteousness, Mark’s focus on action and service, Luke’s message of compassion and inclusion, or John’s celebration of Jesus’ divinity, there is something in each Gospel that can inspire us to live better lives and serve others more fully.