What Is the Name of 12 Jesus Disciples?

Have you ever wondered about the names of the 12 disciples of Jesus? These were the men who were chosen by Jesus to be his closest companions and to spread his message to the world. In this article, we will explore who they were and how they contributed to the growth of Christianity.

Who Were The 12 Disciples?

The 12 disciples, also known as apostles, were a group of men who were chosen by Jesus Christ to follow him during his ministry on earth. They were:

  • Peter
  • Andrew
  • James (son of Zebedee)
  • John (brother of James)
  • Philip
  • Bartholomew (also known as Nathanael)
  • Matthew (also known as Levi)
  • Thomas (also known as Didymus)
  • James (son of Alphaeus)
  • Judas (son of James, also known as Thaddaeus or Lebbaeus)
  • Simon the Zealot
  • Judas Iscariot

Peter, Andrew, James, and John:

Peter was a fisherman from Bethsaida and is often considered the leader of the disciples. He was also present during some of the most significant events in Jesus’ life such as his transfiguration and crucifixion.

Andrew was Peter’s brother and also a fisherman from Bethsaida. He introduced Peter to Jesus.

James (son of Zebedee) was a fisherman from Galilee and one of Jesus’ closest companions. He was present at significant events such as Jesus’ transfiguration and his prayer in the garden of Gethsemane.

John, the brother of James, was also a fisherman from Galilee. He was known as the “beloved disciple” and is credited with writing the Gospel of John.

Philip, Bartholomew, and Matthew:

Philip was from Bethsaida and is known for bringing Nathanael to Jesus. He was also present during the feeding of the 5000.

Bartholomew (also known as Nathanael) was from Cana in Galilee. He is not mentioned often in the Gospels but is believed to have been present during Jesus’ crucifixion and resurrection.

Matthew (also known as Levi) was a tax collector before he became a disciple. He is credited with writing the Gospel of Matthew.

Thomas, James (son of Alphaeus), Judas (son of James), Simon the Zealot, and Judas Iscariot:

Thomas (also known as Didymus) is often remembered for doubting Jesus’ resurrection until he saw him in person.

James (son of Alphaeus) is not mentioned much in the Bible but is believed to have preached in Egypt before being martyred.

Judas (son of James, also known as Thaddaeus or Lebbaeus) is not mentioned much either but is believed to have preached in Syria before being martyred.

Simon the Zealot was a member of a political movement that sought to overthrow Roman rule in Israel. It’s unclear how he reconciled this with Jesus’ message of non-violence.

Judas Iscariot infamously betrayed Jesus for 30 pieces of silver and later committed suicide out of guilt.


The 12 disciples were ordinary men who were chosen by Jesus to spread his message throughout the world. They came from different backgrounds and had different personalities, but they all shared a commitment to Jesus and his teachings. Their legacy continues to inspire Christians around the world today.