What Is the Name of the 12 Disciples of Jesus?

The 12 disciples of Jesus are an integral part of Christian history. They were the chosen ones who accompanied Jesus during his ministry and spread his teachings after his death. Let’s take a closer look at the names of the 12 disciples.

Simon Peter

Simon Peter was a fisherman who was called by Jesus to be his disciple. He was one of the closest followers of Jesus and is considered to be the leader of the disciples. Peter was known for his strong faith and unwavering loyalty to Jesus.


Andrew was also a fisherman who became a disciple of Jesus along with his brother, Simon Peter. He is often referred to as the first disciple because he introduced his brother to Jesus.


James, also known as James the Greater, was one of the sons of Zebedee. He was called by Jesus along with his brother John. James was one of the closest disciples and witnessed many important events in Jesus’ life.


John, also known as John the Evangelist, was another son of Zebedee and brother of James. He is known for writing several books in the New Testament, including the Gospel according to John.


Philip was from Bethsaida and became a disciple after being called by Jesus. He is often depicted as being thoughtful and analytical.


Bartholomew is believed to be Nathanael mentioned in the Gospel according to John. He became a disciple after being introduced to Jesus by Philip.


Thomas is also known as Doubting Thomas because he initially doubted that Jesus had risen from the dead. However, he later became a strong believer and dedicated disciple.


Matthew, also known as Levi, was a tax collector before becoming a disciple of Jesus. He is known for writing the Gospel according to Matthew.

James the Less

James the Less, also known as James the son of Alphaeus, is often referred to as one of the lesser-known disciples. However, he played an important role in spreading Jesus’ teachings after his death.

Jude Thaddeus

Jude Thaddeus, also known as Judas or Lebbaeus, is often confused with Judas Iscariot who betrayed Jesus. However, Jude Thaddeus was a dedicated disciple who preached the gospel after Jesus’ death.

Simon the Zealot

Simon the Zealot was a member of a political group that opposed Roman rule. He became a disciple of Jesus and was known for his passionate devotion to him.

Judas Iscariot

Judas Iscariot is infamous for betraying Jesus and leading to his crucifixion. He was one of the 12 disciples but his actions led to him being reviled by Christians throughout history.

  • In conclusion, these 12 disciples were instrumental in spreading Jesus’ teachings and laying the foundation for Christianity. Their names are remembered even today and their devotion serves as an inspiration to many.