What Is the Order of Jesus 12 Disciples?

The Order of Jesus’ 12 Disciples

Jesus’ 12 disciples were his closest followers and played a significant role in spreading his teachings. The order of the disciples is essential to understanding their individual contributions and the history of Christianity. In this article, we will take a closer look at the order of Jesus’ 12 disciples.

The List of Jesus’ 12 Disciples:

  • Peter
  • Andrew
  • James
  • John
  • Philip
  • Bartholomew (Nathanael)
  • Thomas (Didymus)
  • Matthew (Levi)
  • James (son of Alphaeus)
  • Judas (son of James, Thaddaeus, or Lebbaeus)
  • Simon the Zealot
  • Judas Iscariot

The Importance of Peter:

Peter was the first disciple called by Jesus and held a special place among the other apostles. He was present for many important events in Jesus’ life, including his transfiguration and his arrest in Gethsemane. Peter was also known for being impulsive and outspoken, which often led him into trouble.

Peter’s role as leader among the apostles is evident in several instances throughout the New Testament. For example, he is mentioned first in all lists of the apostles and is referred to as “the rock” upon which Christ would build his church. Additionally, it was Peter who preached on Pentecost and performed many miracles in Christ’s name.

The Role of Judas Iscariot:

Judas Iscariot is perhaps the most well-known of Jesus’ disciples due to his betrayal. He is often referred to as the “betrayer” or “traitor” and is known for identifying Jesus with a kiss in the Garden of Gethsemane. After his betrayal, Judas hanged himself, and his name has since become synonymous with treachery.

While Judas’ actions were undoubtedly sinful, it is essential to remember that he was still one of Jesus’ chosen apostles. In fact, he was entrusted with the responsibility of managing the group’s finances. Jesus knew that Judas would betray him but still loved him and included him in his inner circle.

The Contributions of Other Disciples:

Although Peter and Judas are two of the most well-known disciples, each of the 12 played an important role in spreading Christ’s message. For example, James and John were brothers who were often referred to as “Sons of Thunder.” They were present at the transfiguration and asked Jesus if they could sit at his right and left hand in heaven.

Matthew was a tax collector before becoming one of Christ’s followers. He wrote one of the four gospels and was known for being a meticulous record-keeper. Bartholomew (also known as Nathanael) was initially skeptical about Jesus but eventually became a loyal follower after seeing him perform miracles.

Thomas (also known as Didymus) is perhaps best known for doubting Christ’s resurrection until he saw him with his own eyes. After this experience, Thomas became a fervent believer and traveled extensively to spread Christ’s message.

In Conclusion:

The order of Jesus’ 12 disciples is significant in understanding their individual contributions to the early Christian church. While some, like Peter and Judas, are more well-known than others, each played an essential role in spreading Christ’s message. As we continue to study and reflect on the life of Jesus, it is essential to also remember the contributions of his closest followers.