What Order Did the Disciples Follow Jesus?

Have you ever wondered what order the disciples followed Jesus? The Bible mentions the names of the twelve apostles, but it doesn’t provide a clear timeline of when they joined Jesus. In this article, we will explore the possible order in which the disciples became followers of Jesus.

Simon Peter and Andrew

According to the Gospel of John, the first two disciples that followed Jesus were Simon Peter and his brother Andrew. They were both fishermen from Bethsaida and were introduced to Jesus by John the Baptist.

When John saw Jesus passing by, he said, “Look, the Lamb of God!” (John 1:36) Simon Peter and Andrew followed Jesus after hearing this declaration.

James and John

The next two disciples that joined Jesus were James and his brother John. They were also fishermen from Bethsaida and were partners with Simon Peter and Andrew.

According to Mark 1:19-20, James and John left their fishing nets immediately after Jesus called them. They left their father Zebedee in the boat with the hired men and followed Jesus.


Philip was from Bethsaida, the same town as Peter, Andrew, James, and John. He was called by Jesus to follow him while he was still in Galilee (John 1:43).

Nathanael (Bartholomew)

Nathanael was introduced to Jesus by Philip who told him that they had found “the one Moses wrote about in the Law” (John 1:45). Nathanael was skeptical at first but eventually became a disciple of Jesus.

Matthew (Levi)

Matthew was a tax collector before he became a disciple of Jesus. He was sitting at his tax booth when Jesus called him to follow him (Mark 2:13-14). Matthew left everything and followed Jesus.

Thomas (Didymus)

Thomas was also known as Didymus which means “twin” in Greek. He is best known for doubting Jesus’ resurrection until he saw Jesus in person. Thomas became a disciple of Jesus after being convinced by the other disciples that Jesus had indeed risen from the dead.

Judas Iscariot

Judas Iscariot was the disciple that betrayed Jesus for thirty pieces of silver (Matthew 26:14-16). He was one of the twelve apostles and was responsible for managing the group’s finances.

James son of Alphaeus and Simon the Zealot

The Bible doesn’t provide much information about James son of Alphaeus and Simon the Zealot. They are mentioned in the list of twelve apostles but their backgrounds and how they became disciples of Jesus remain unclear.

Judas son of James (Thaddaeus)

Judas son of James is also known as Thaddaeus. He is mentioned in Mark 3:18 as one of the twelve apostles but not much else is known about him.


In conclusion, we can see that the order in which the disciples followed Jesus varies depending on the Gospel account. However, we do know that Simon Peter and Andrew were the first two disciples, followed by James and John, Philip, Nathanael (Bartholomew), Matthew, Thomas (Didymus), Judas Iscariot, James son of Alphaeus, Simon the Zealot, and Judas son of James (Thaddaeus). Regardless of when they joined Jesus, all twelve apostles played a significant role in spreading his teachings throughout the world.