What Was the Name of Jesus 12 Disciples?

The disciples of Jesus are an integral part of the Christian faith. They were the chosen ones to learn from and follow the teachings of Jesus Christ.

The 12 disciples were handpicked by Jesus himself to spread his message and establish his church. In this article, we will explore who these disciples were and what their names were.

Who Were the Disciples?

The disciples were a group of men who followed Jesus during his ministry on earth. They witnessed his miracles, listened to his teachings, and saw him crucified on the cross. After Jesus’ resurrection, they continued to spread his message throughout the world.

What Were Their Names?

The 12 disciples of Jesus are often referred to as “the apostles.” Their names are as follows:

  • Peter
  • Andrew
  • James (son of Zebedee)
  • John
  • Philip
  • Bartholomew (also known as Nathanael)
  • Thomas (also known as Didymus)
  • Matthew (also known as Levi)
  • James (son of Alphaeus)
  • Thaddaeus (also known as Judas, son of James)
  • Simon the Zealot
  • Judas Iscariot (who later betrayed Jesus)

The Role of Each Disciple

Each disciple played a unique role in spreading the message of Jesus Christ:


Peter was one of Jesus’ closest disciples. He was a fisherman by trade and was known for being impulsive and outspoken. After Jesus’ death and resurrection, Peter became a leader in the early Christian church.


Andrew was Peter’s brother and also a fisherman. He was the first disciple to be called by Jesus and is known for bringing his brother to meet Jesus.

James (son of Zebedee):

James was one of the “Sons of Thunder” along with his brother John. He was one of Jesus’ closest disciples and was the first apostle to be martyred for his faith.


John was another one of Jesus’ closest disciples. He is often referred to as “the beloved disciple” and wrote several books in the New Testament, including the Gospel of John, 1 John, 2 John, 3 John, and Revelation.


Philip was from Bethsaida and is known for introducing Nathanael (Bartholomew) to Jesus. He also helped feed the 5,000 with just five loaves of bread and two fish.

Bartholomew (Nathanael):

Bartholomew is often associated with Nathanael. He is believed to have been a missionary in India and Armenia.

Thomas (Didymus):

Thomas is known for doubting Jesus’ resurrection until he saw him in person. He is often referred to as “Doubting Thomas.”

Matthew (Levi):

Matthew was a tax collector before he became a disciple of Jesus. He wrote the Gospel of Matthew, which tells the story of Jesus’ life and teachings.

James (son of Alphaeus):

James (son of Alphaeus) is also known as James the Less. Not much is known about him except that he was a disciple of Jesus.

Thaddaeus (Judas, son of James):

Thaddaeus is also known as Judas (not to be confused with Judas Iscariot). He is often associated with Simon the Zealot.

Simon the Zealot:

Simon the Zealot is believed to have been a member of the Jewish nationalist party known as the Zealots. He and Thaddaeus are often paired together in scripture.

Judas Iscariot:

Judas Iscariot is infamous for betraying Jesus for 30 pieces of silver. He later hanged himself out of guilt.

In conclusion, the 12 disciples played a crucial role in spreading the message of Jesus Christ. Each disciple had their own unique personality and background, but they were all chosen by Jesus to continue his ministry after he ascended into heaven. They left behind a powerful legacy that continues to inspire millions of people around the world today.