What Were the Names of the First Disciples Jesus Called?

When Jesus began His earthly ministry, He called twelve men to be His closest disciples. These men would become known as the Apostles, and they would play a vital role in spreading Jesus’ message of salvation throughout the world.

But who were these men? What were their names and backgrounds? In this article, we will explore the names of the first disciples Jesus called.

The First Disciples

The first two disciples that Jesus called were Simon Peter and his brother Andrew. They were fishermen by trade and were casting their nets into the sea when Jesus approached them.

He said to them, “Follow me, and I will make you fishers of men.” Immediately, they left their nets and followed Him.

Next, Jesus called James and John, who were also brothers and fishermen. They were mending their nets with their father when Jesus called them. Like Peter and Andrew, they immediately left everything to follow Him.

The Rest of the Disciples

After calling these four men, Jesus continued to call more disciples:

  • Philip – He was from Bethsaida, the same town as Peter and Andrew.
  • Bartholomew (Nathanael) – He was from Cana in Galilee.
  • Matthew (Levi) – He was a tax collector before becoming a disciple.
  • Thomas – He is often referred to as “Doubting Thomas” because he initially doubted that Jesus had risen from the dead.
  • James son of Alphaeus – Not much is known about him.
  • Judas Thaddaeus (also called Lebbaeus) – Not much is known about him either.
  • Simon the Zealot – He was part of a political movement that sought to overthrow Roman rule.

Finally, Jesus called Judas Iscariot to be one of His disciples. However, Judas would later betray Jesus and hand Him over to the authorities for thirty pieces of silver.


In conclusion, the names of the first disciples Jesus called were Simon Peter, Andrew, James, John, Philip, Bartholomew (Nathanael), Matthew (Levi), Thomas, James son of Alphaeus, Judas Thaddaeus (Lebbaeus), Simon the Zealot, and Judas Iscariot. These twelve men would go on to spread the Gospel message throughout the world and lay the foundation for the Christian faith.