Who Has Most Man of the Match in Football World Cup History?

Football World Cup is one of the most prestigious sporting events in the world. It is a platform for the best football players from around the globe to showcase their skills and compete for the ultimate prize.

While winning the World Cup is undoubtedly the biggest achievement, being named as the Man of the Match is also a significant honor. In this article, we’ll take a look at who has won the most Man of the Match awards in Football World Cup history.

Man of The Match Award

The Man of The Match award is given to the player who has made a significant impact on a particular match. The winner is selected by a panel consisting of experts and former players. The award was first introduced in the 1970 World Cup and has been an important part of every tournament since then.

Players with Most Man of The Match Awards

Several players have won multiple Man of The Match awards over different World Cups, but only two players have won it more than three times.

Diego Maradona

The legendary Argentinean player Diego Maradona has won the most Man of The Match awards in Football World Cup history. He was named as the Man of The Match on six occasions during his illustrious career, including four times during Argentina’s victorious 1986 campaign.

Maradona was undoubtedly one of football’s greatest ever players, and his performances in that tournament are still talked about today. He scored five goals and provided five assists during that competition, including his infamous “Hand of God” goal against England.

Messi Lionel

The second player on this list is another Argentinean, Lionel Messi. He has won four Man of The Match awards during his career, including two during Argentina’s run to the final in 2014.

Messi has been one of football’s biggest stars for over a decade, and his performances in World Cups have been exceptional. Despite not winning the trophy, he has always been a standout player in the tournament.

Other Notable Players

Apart from Maradona and Messi, several other players have won multiple Man of The Match awards during their careers. Some of the notable ones are:

  • Ronaldo (Brazil) – 3 Awards
  • Zinedine Zidane (France) – 3 Awards
  • Rivaldo (Brazil) – 3 Awards
  • Oliver Kahn (Germany) – 3 Awards


The Man of The Match award is an important recognition of a player’s contribution to a particular match. Diego Maradona has won it the most number of times in Football World Cup history, followed by Lionel Messi. These two Argentinean players have been standout performers in the tournament, and their names will forever be associated with this prestigious award.