Who Has Won the Most World Series Championship in History?

The World Series is a professional baseball championship series that is played annually between the champions of the American League (AL) and National League (NL). It started in 1903 and has been held every year since then, except for 1904 and 1994. The team that wins the World Series is crowned as the champion of Major League Baseball (MLB).

Over the years, many teams have won the World Series championship, but some have been more successful than others. In this article, we will take a look at which team has won the most World Series championships in history.

1. New York Yankees

The New York Yankees are by far the most successful team in MLB history when it comes to winning World Series championships. They have won a total of 27 championships, which is more than any other team. The Yankees’ first championship came in 1923, and their most recent championship was in 2009.

The Yankees have had some of baseball’s greatest players on their roster throughout their history, including Babe Ruth, Lou Gehrig, Joe DiMaggio, Mickey Mantle, Yogi Berra, Derek Jeter and Mariano Rivera.

2. St. Louis Cardinals

The St. Louis Cardinals are second on the list with 11 championships to their name. Their first championship came in 1926, and their most recent was in 2011.

The Cardinals are known for being one of baseball’s most consistent teams over time with many successful seasons throughout their history.

3. Boston Red Sox

The Boston Red Sox have won nine championships in total. They famously broke an 86-year drought without a championship when they won it all in 2004 after coming back from a three-game deficit against the Yankees in the American League Championship Series (ALCS).

Some notable players from Red Sox’s history include Ted Williams, Carl Yastrzemski, Pedro Martinez, and David Ortiz.

4. Oakland Athletics

The Oakland Athletics have won nine championships in total. They won three consecutive championships from 1972-1974 and then again in 1989.

Some notable players from the Athletics’ history include Reggie Jackson, Rollie Fingers, Rickey Henderson, and Dennis Eckersley.

5. San Francisco Giants

The San Francisco Giants have won eight championships in total. They have won three championships in the last decade (2010, 2012, and 2014).

Some notable players from Giants’ history include Willie Mays, Barry Bonds, Juan Marichal, and Madison Bumgarner.


There have been many successful teams throughout MLB history. However, the New York Yankees stand out as the most successful team with a whopping total of 27 World Series championships to their name.

The St. Louis Cardinals are a distant second with 11 championships to their name. The Boston Red Sox and Oakland Athletics are tied for third place with nine championships each while the San Francisco Giants round out the top five with eight championships.

No matter which team you support or which era you prefer to follow, it’s undeniable that these teams have left an indelible mark on baseball history – not just for their number of championships but also for the legendary players who helped them achieve such great success.