Who Is the 14 Disciples of Jesus?

The 14 Disciples of Jesus were a group of individuals chosen by Jesus Christ to follow and learn from him. They were instrumental in spreading the teachings of Jesus throughout the world after his death and resurrection. In this article, we will take a closer look at who these disciples were and their roles in Christianity.

Simon Peter

Simon Peter was one of the first disciples chosen by Jesus. He was a fisherman before he became a follower of Christ. Peter is known for being one of the most prominent disciples, often taking on leadership roles within the group.

James, son of Zebedee

James was another fisherman who became a disciple of Jesus along with his brother John. He is often referred to as James the Greater to differentiate him from James, son of Alphaeus.


John, brother of James, is known as the beloved disciple because he was particularly close to Jesus. He wrote several books in the New Testament, including the Gospel according to John.


Andrew was Simon Peter’s brother and also a fisherman before becoming a disciple of Jesus. He is often mentioned alongside Peter in biblical accounts.


Philip was from Bethsaida and is known for bringing Nathanael (also known as Bartholomew) to meet Jesus.


Bartholomew is sometimes identified with Nathanael, whom Philip brought to meet Jesus. He may have been from Cana in Galilee.


Matthew was a tax collector before becoming a disciple of Jesus. He wrote one of the four Gospels in the New Testament.


Thomas is often referred to as “Doubting Thomas” because he initially did not believe that Jesus had risen from the dead. However, he later became a strong believer and missionary.

James, son of Alphaeus

James, son of Alphaeus, is often referred to as James the Less to differentiate him from James, son of Zebedee.

Jude Thaddeus

Jude Thaddeus is also known as Judas or Lebbaeus. He is sometimes confused with Judas Iscariot but was a different person.

Simon the Zealot

Simon the Zealot was a political revolutionary before becoming a disciple of Jesus. He is sometimes identified with Simon the Canaanite.

Judas Iscariot

Judas Iscariot was one of the 12 original disciples but later betrayed Jesus for 30 pieces of silver. He later hanged himself in remorse.


Matthias was chosen to replace Judas Iscariot after his betrayal. Little is known about his life as a disciple.

  • In conclusion, the 14 Disciples of Jesus played an essential role in spreading Christianity throughout the world. Each disciple had their own unique background and personality, but all shared a commitment to following and spreading Jesus’ teachings.

We hope this article has provided you with a better understanding of who these disciples were and their contributions to Christianity.