Who Was One of Jesus 12 Disciples?

One of the most well-known figures in history is Jesus Christ. He is said to have had 12 disciples who followed him and helped spread his teachings throughout the world. One of these disciples was named Judas Iscariot.

Who Was Judas Iscariot?

Judas Iscariot is known for betraying Jesus Christ, leading to his crucifixion. He is said to have been one of the original 12 disciples, chosen by Jesus himself. According to the Bible, Judas was a man from Kerioth, which is why he is referred to as ‘Iscariot’.

The Betrayal of Judas

Judas’ betrayal of Jesus was a pivotal moment in history. He led soldiers to Jesus in the Garden of Gethsemane and identified him with a kiss, prompting his arrest. The soldiers then took Jesus to be tried by the Roman authorities and eventually sentenced to death by crucifixion.

The Death of Judas

After his betrayal, Judas felt immense guilt and regret for what he had done. According to the Bible, he returned the 30 pieces of silver that he had received for betraying Jesus and then hung himself.

There are differing accounts about how exactly Judas died. Some say that he fell down a cliff and died as a result of this fall. Others believe that he died from natural causes before reaching old age.

Legacy of Judas

Despite his infamous act of betrayal, Judas’ legacy remains an important part of Christian history. His actions set into motion events that led to the crucifixion and resurrection of Jesus Christ, which are central tenets of Christianity.

In addition, some theologians argue that without Judas’ betrayal, there would be no salvation for humanity because Christ’s death on the cross was necessary for forgiveness of sins.

  • Conclusion

In conclusion, Judas Iscariot was one of Jesus’ 12 disciples and is known for betraying him. Despite his actions, he remains an important figure in Christian history and his legacy continues to be debated and discussed by theologians and scholars.