Who Were the 12 Disciples After Jesus Died?

After Jesus was crucified, the 12 disciples who followed him during his ministry were left to continue spreading his teachings. While their individual stories vary, each of these men played a significant role in shaping Christianity as it is known today.

Simon Peter

Simon Peter, also known as Cephas, was one of the first disciples called by Jesus and was considered one of the closest to him. After Jesus’ death, Peter became a leader among the disciples and played a crucial role in establishing the Christian church.

James and John

James and John, also known as the “Sons of Thunder,” were brothers who were among Jesus’ inner circle. After Jesus’ death, they continued to spread his message throughout Judea and Samaria.


Andrew, Simon Peter’s brother, was also one of the first disciples called by Jesus. After Jesus’ death, Andrew continued to spread his teachings throughout modern-day Turkey and Greece.


Philip, another early disciple, is best known for evangelizing in modern-day Turkey and Greece after Jesus’ death. He is also credited with baptizing an Ethiopian eunuch.

Bartholomew (Nathanael)

Bartholomew, also known as Nathanael, was a disciple from Cana who was skeptical of Jesus at first but eventually became one of his followers. After Jesus’ death, Bartholomew traveled to India to spread Christianity.

Matthew (Levi)

Matthew, also known as Levi, was a tax collector before he became one of Jesus’ disciples. After Jesus’ death, Matthew wrote the Gospel that bears his name and continued to spread Christianity throughout Judea.

Thomas (Didymus)

Thomas, also known as Didymus or “the doubter,” famously doubted Jesus’ resurrection until he saw him for himself. After that, Thomas became a dedicated follower of Jesus and is said to have spread Christianity throughout modern-day India.


James, sometimes referred to as James the Less or James the Just, was one of the disciples who remained in Jerusalem after Jesus’ death. He played a significant role in the early Christian church and is believed to have been the author of the Epistle of James.

Jude (Thaddeus)

Jude, also known as Thaddeus or Lebbaeus, was one of the lesser-known disciples. After Jesus’ death, Jude traveled to Mesopotamia to spread Christianity.

Simon (the Zealot)

Simon, sometimes referred to as Simon the Zealot, was a member of a Jewish sect called the Zealots who opposed Roman rule. After Jesus’ death, Simon continued to spread his teachings while also advocating for Jewish independence from Rome.

Judas Iscariot

Finally, there is Judas Iscariot, perhaps the most infamous of all the disciples. Judas betrayed Jesus to the authorities for 30 pieces of silver and later hanged himself in remorse. His story serves as a cautionary tale about greed and betrayal.

  • Simon Peter
  • James and John
  • Andrew
  • Philip
  • Bartholomew (Nathanael)
  • Matthew (Levi)
  • Thomas (Didymus)
  • James
  • Jude (Thaddeus)
  • Simon (the Zealot)
  • Judas Iscariot


While the disciples’ stories differ, each played a significant role in spreading the message of Jesus after his death. Their tireless efforts to share his teachings with the world helped to establish Christianity as one of the world’s major religions.