Who Were the Disciples in Jesus Inner Circle?

The disciples were a group of men selected by Jesus to be his closest followers and confidants. Among them, there were twelve who were considered to be his inner circle. These twelve were handpicked by Jesus himself and were given the authority to preach the gospel and perform miracles in his name.

The Twelve Disciples

The twelve disciples in Jesus’ inner circle were: Peter, James, John, Andrew, Philip, Bartholomew (also known as Nathanael), Matthew (also known as Levi), Thomas, James (son of Alphaeus), Thaddaeus (also known as Judas or Lebbaeus), Simon the Zealot, and Judas Iscariot.


Peter was one of the most prominent disciples and was considered to be the leader of the group. He was a fisherman from Galilee and was known for his impulsive nature. Jesus changed his name from Simon to Peter, which means “rock”, signifying that he would become a strong foundation for the church.

James and John

James and John were brothers who were also fishermen from Galilee. They are sometimes referred to as the “Sons of Thunder” because of their fiery personalities. James was the first disciple to be martyred for his faith in Jesus.


Andrew was also a fisherman from Galilee and was Peter’s brother. He is best known for bringing his brother Peter to Jesus.


Philip came from Bethsaida and is often described as being practical and analytical. He is best known for bringing Nathanael (Bartholomew) to meet Jesus.


Bartholomew is believed to be Nathanael from Cana in Galilee. He was initially skeptical about Jesus but became a believer after meeting him.


Matthew was a tax collector who was despised by many Jews. Jesus chose him to be a disciple, which shocked and angered the religious leaders of the time.


Thomas is also known as “Doubting Thomas” because he initially doubted Jesus’ resurrection. However, he later became a strong believer and traveled to India to spread the gospel.

James (son of Alphaeus)

James (son of Alphaeus) is sometimes referred to as “James the Less” to distinguish him from James, the brother of John. Not much is known about him except that he was one of the twelve disciples.


Thaddaeus is also known as Judas or Lebbaeus. He is sometimes confused with Judas Iscariot but was a different person altogether. Not much is known about him either.

Simon the Zealot

Simon the Zealot was a member of a political group that opposed Roman rule in Palestine. It’s unclear whether Simon actively participated in any violent acts, but his association with this group shows that he had strong political views.

Judas Iscariot

Judas Iscariot is perhaps the most infamous of all the disciples because he betrayed Jesus for thirty pieces of silver. He later regretted his actions and committed suicide.

  • Peter
  • James and John
  • Andrew
  • Philip
  • Bartholomew
  • Matthew
  • Thomas
  • James (son of Alphaeus)
  • Thaddaeus
  • Simon the Zealot
  • Judas Iscariot


In conclusion, the twelve disciples in Jesus’ inner circle were a diverse group of men who came from different backgrounds and had different personalities. Despite their differences, they were united in their love for Jesus and their commitment to spreading his message to the world. Each of them played an important role in the growth and development of Christianity, and their legacy continues to inspire believers today.